Shoulders, kickup, etc...

Jakemac

Hi folks, I'm Jake. I'm 49 years old and I started practicing handstands a little over a year ago.

My biggest obstacle so far has been tight shoulders. I've made some progress in opening them up, especially from isometric shoulder exercises, but, as you'll see from the videos below, I have a lot of work ahead to get them fully open.

I'm far better at kicking up with my right leg. My left hip is less stable than my right (I have a big knot in my right psoas which restricts flexibility but nevertheless helps with stability). When I kickup with my left leg, I have to work hard to keep it from drifting out externally.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Here are the videos:

Right leg kickup and hold:
Left leg kickup and hold:

Thanks,
jake
Adrian

Hello- I struggled for a long time with tight shoulders- really had to out a lot of work in to it.

Couple of things you can think about that have helped me just on this point:

I know it sounds a bit vague but try to feel that you have the space to let your shoulders open- I like to think of trying to create a certain looseness- you can kind of use the resistance of your hands against the floor a little bit to pull/drag the shoulder open.

At Natalie's classes Ive been to she really goes in to details about getting the joints and spine moving. You could try doing some flopping around of your limbs

Your breathing is very heavy and looks like you are holding your breath. This is going to restrict mobility and openness not just physically but it's going to make you feel tight mentally as well.

So maybe , in short, try to cultivate a sense of open shoulders and fluidity in your practice.
Natalie Reckert

Hello Jake,

Hi Adrian (wave :)),

Thanks for sharing your handstand practices and challenges with us.

Some videos you may find helpful: