Wall Holds: Hip Extension vs Shoulder Extension

mowgli

Hi

I have been doing a combination of episodes 5&6 for the last 2 months. Despite somewhat regular practice 3-4 days a week I have been stuck at 25seconds for the endurance holds for the last 3weeks. The first round or two I can get to 30 seconds. After that, the time I can hold (till my arms and shoulders just give way) decreases with each hold.

Doing shoulder mobility exercises has been somewhat helpful but I think part of my problem is also limited hip extension. If I hang off something I can keep my shoulders and torso in a straight line but my legs always end up in front of me. Not sure if that is a useful way of finding the limiting joint complex.

So my questions are: 1. Do you have any recommended hip extension exercises? and 2. What is a good way to tell where the limitation really is?

Happy Handstanding,
Mo
Lucas Vieira

Noo
Natalie Reckert

Hello Mo,

Thank you for submitting your question and well done for doing the whole course until the end.

In my experience the "arms giving way" problem is due to limited shoulder mobility.

If your shoulders have a "carrying angle" they are working hard and the weight is not well stacked.

In your case I would recommend you fold your chin to your chest in the endurance holds, it should feel like your are almost touching your chin with your chest. These would be handstand holds with your back to the wall or facing the wall wichever way works best.

Focus on elevating the shoulders as much as possible and think of pushing the arms slightly back to open more (this is not the same as leaning to the front with your chest! which you should not do) It is a shoulder elevation pkus pushing the arms behind you. Try it standing first.

Try to pull the shoulder blades together on your back, this will create a slight outward rotation in the arms. The outward rotation helps you to open the shoulders further.